Springs Historical Society

The Springs Historical Society was organized in 1975 by a few Springs residents to collect and preserve information and material particularly relevant to the Springs area of East Hampton Town.


Membership is open to anyone wishing to support the organization and its activities.


The Society presents programs on topics related to Springs; collects and preserves documents and photographs from the area and operates the Springs Community Library.


The Society keeps its records in the Ambrose Parsons House which also serves as the Springs Community Library.  The building itself is owned by East Hampton Town.

We are located in the heart of Springs Historic District, by the Blacksmiths shop, Ashawagh Hall and Community Presbyterian Church. The Springs General Store and the Pollock - Krasner House is just a few walk-able minutes away.

Fall Upcoming Events & Announcements
Meet The Author
Thursday, November 17th

@ Ashawagh Hall 6pm
Admission: Free

Authors Amy Zerner
& Monte Farber

Read more


Meet The Author willbe on hiatus December & January, returning in February.

The book sale has moved inside. Please stop in and browse the books located behind the stairs in the Children's Reading Room.
The mahjong group meets Wednesdays at 2pm
New to Mahjong? Or an expert at the game? We welcome all levels! The mahjong group meets at the Library. Join us!
Arts & Archives 2022: A Huge Success!
Thank you to all that attended Arts & Archives 2022 and we look forward to Arts & Archives 2023. Letter from the president and  Visit the gallery.
The opening of the Blacksmith Shop was a huge success this summer thanks to your support. We look forward to next season!
When the Springs Food Pantry’s supplier suddenly could not deliver pasta & dry cereal, the Springs Historical Society and Community Library’s reached out for help. Thank you so much for pitching in and filling this need. With your help we were able to provide these staples for every family. Your generosity is greatly appreciated.
Springs Snapshot: Commercial Town Dock
Emerson Taber opened a lobster pound at the commercial dock at the end of Gann Road in 1946. The new tanks could keep 2,000 pounds of lobster alive at all times. The business thrived until the 1970s. The building is now owned by the Town and has seen service as the Marine Museum's Boat Shop, the Harbor Master's Office, and as part of the shellfish hatchery.
Document 69.jpg

Renovation update:

  • The heat will be back on soon and the library will be nice and warm this winter.
  • Renovations are completed on the new ADA compliant bathroom and doorways have been widened.
  • A new ADA wheelchair ramp has been installed on the east side of the building, along with a new brick walkway.

Become A Member Online!

You can now become a member of the SHS & Community
Library via our website.


Lifetime membership is S250
Yearly membership~$30

Sign up here

First Time Membership

Need a Notary?
Contact local notary Dru Raley. She will arrange to meet at the library.


Phone: 631 -907-0177

Notary Stamps